Sortes Austen

081

Sometimes it feels at a dead end, and then you have to ask for advice from the person that you appreciate a lot. Let Jane Austen offer wisdom and solace.

Sortes means “divination, or the seeking of guidance, by chance selection of a passage in the Bible or another text regarded as authoritative.” Now I am looking for an answer a few questions what are woken up in my mind during the past week. The book that I used was Pride and Prejudice. The answers I got are very specific to the writer.

163

 

  1. If you wrote a blog, what would you write about?

“A girl likes to be crossed a little in love now and then. It is something to think of.”

  1. I have a backlog of schoolwork. How do I get started?

“My ideas flow so rapidly that I have not time to express them.”

  1. Summer is almost here. What should I wear?

“No lace. No lace, Mrs. Bennett, I beg you!”

  1. I have not written anything for a long time.What can I write about?

“My style of writing is very different from yours.”

  1. What I could say to women who talk their private matters to the phone on the bus with a loud voice?

“From all that I can collect by your manner of talking, you must be two of the silliest girls in the country. I have suspected it some time, but I am now convinced.”

  1. Dear Miss Austen. Would you like to say something else?

“I will not torment you with vain wishes, which may seem purposely to ask for your thanks.”

  1. But really, something more?

“Know your own happiness. You want nothing but patience- or give it a more fascinating name, call it hope.”

Leave a Reply

