My top 5 things of this week

New packet of coffee

“Police work wouldn’t be possible without coffee,” Wallander said.
“No work would be possible without coffee.”
They pondered the importance of coffee in silence.”
― Henning Mankell, One step behind

For all of simple pleasures of life a fresh coffee is one of the best. I’ll start the week by opening a new packet of coffee. The vacuum packing makes a fun hissing sound and spreads its rich aroma in the room. Suddenly the Monday does no longer seem quite as discouraging as you first think. And, moreover, surely the morning coffee will be fresh and delicious.

bookie

Learning

“Learning is experience. Everything else is just information.” –Albert Einstein

Even though at times it seems difficult, learning is a series of experiences of success. Meaningfulness of the studying is that you can get things finalized and get feedback on it. I am lucky as I get to experience something like this even in adulthood.

021

Books for rainy days

“When I have a little money, I buy books; and if I have any left, I buy food and clothes.

-Desiderius Erasmus

In March there are approximately seventeen rainy days in Helsinki. Reading is the best way to relax and reduce stress when it is not possible to go out for a walk. I don’t overlook any kind of literature, but I like to read everything: detective stories, fantasy, contemporary literature, classics and poetry. Books can never be too many, so I often go to bookstores and second hand shops to hoard books for a rainy day.

rain

The signs of spring

“Is the spring coming?” he said. “What is it like?”… “It is the sun shining on the rain and the rain falling on the sunshine…”

― Frances Hodgson Burnett, The Secret Garden

Flowers burst into bloom faster when ever you have time to notice!

tulppaanit

Food

I cooked asparagus for the first time this year. I love it, that’s perfect food for spring: green, fresh and delicious. Since I am from eastern Finland, I also like traditional Finnish foods, like Karelian stew and pastries.  I rarely have time to bake Karelian pastries myself, but the raw frozen product is quite all right. Last time I opened the package, there supposed to be eight pieces, but guess what – there were nine. Ha!

Parsa

 

One thought on “My top 5 things of this week

Leave a Reply

