Piggy

I was at the market place with my aunt. She asked me if I wanted a piggy. I was a serious kind of a kid, not older than five years, and I remember that I considered the question carefully. There was a pig farm in our village, not far from my home, so I really had a good understanding of the pigs. I knew that they were not very cute and they smelled. I would have preferred to get a kitten or a lamb. So I refused politely.

munkki

I found out later what my aunt meant by a piggy. It was a big flat donut which was filled with jam. Corners of the donut were twisted so that they resembled pork feet. Oh, I was annoyed afterwards! Why I didn’t accept one when offered! I think I still feel the emptiness, the never-ending lack of donut. Because of that or some other reason I love to go to the market place to have a coffee and pastry. A piggy seems to be smaller nowadays but fresh and tasty it still is.
karjalanp

Market places are the heart of all Finnish towns. You can get fresh local products there, have a coffee and leisurely chit-chat. Each town has its own local specialty of food and handicrafts. If you travel in Finland I recommend that you visit a marketplace so you can get a good idea of local life.

mansikat

2 thoughts on “Piggy

Leave a Reply

